To Every Teammate I’ve Ever Had

Hey,

Remember me? At some point in our lives our paths crossed and we were teammates on a team. Rec. Club. High School. College. Some of us stuck together for years while some of us were only together for a season, but regardless, we have been teammates and for that I am forever thankful.

Thank you for being there when coach said “Get on the line” after a 2 hour practice and the last thing we wanted to do was one more sprint.

Thank you for cheering me on no matter if we were just in the middle of a drill at practice or in the middle of a really intense game.

Thank you for giving me that look that made me laugh every time when coach was giving that really long talk and no one wanted to listen.

Thank you for lending a hand when I was down and needed someone to pick me up.

Thank you for pushing me beyond my limits when I thought I was giving all I had.

Thank you for being there to celebrate my victories with me when I had a really good game…

And for being there when I played the worst I had ever played.

Thank you for eating everything in sight with me during offseason after the 10th workout of the week.

Thank you for being there when I made a mistake and sticking up for me….

but also for calling me out when I needed to hear it.

Thank you for always being there.

Thank you for always having my back.

Thank you for making me a better player.

Thank you for making me a better person.

Thank you for becoming my family.

So here’s to you wherever you are in life now. Still playing soccer, or living a normal life again away from sports. No matter if we talked yesterday, or if we haven’t talked in years, know that I am still cheering you on.

Yours truly,

A Forever Teammate

Leave a Reply

