Roots Before Branches

“What are you doing after graduation?”

This has been the question I receive about 20 times a day. It is the question that burns in the back of my mind, day in and day out. Yes. Graduation is approaching (51 days….help). Yes. I love my major. Yes. I have somewhat of an idea of what I want to do. No. I don’t have a specific job lined up. No. I don’t have any interviews. No. I don’t have everything figured out….

…..but that’s okay. Isn’t it?

Unless I missed a big memo, it is not a graduation requirement to have your whole life figured out the day you leave college at the age of 22 (or 21). Sometimes I get so caught up in believing that I need to have everything planned out, when in reality I have SO much more of my life left to figure that out, Lord willing. As worrisome as I can grow, I know my feet are planted on such a solid and firm foundation.

[Ugh, okay. Confession time.] I was listening to some of my old music the other day and came across a song from the TV show Glee. The song is titled “Roots before branches” and was sung after the main character graduated high school. The chorus states

“I gotta have
Roots before branches
To know who I am
Before I know
Who I wanna be
And faith
To take chances
To live like I see
A place in this world
For me”

You gotta admit…that is all pretty true stuff. You have to know who you are before you know who you want to be. You have to be planted in a strong foundation first, before you can go out and try and make something of yourself. I stand tall and firm in the foundation of Jesus Christ. I know who holds my future. You know, it is hard to not worry about the future. We are human. Everyone does it. But sometimes, don’t you feel silly when you step back and realize that only God knows what your future holds? In the Bible, Matthew 6:34 states “Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” God has a far greater plan for each and every one of us and we have to believe in it! We have to trust in it! When you worry about things, know that God is already at work preparing for you exactly what you need. Not want. Need.

With a lot of people around me getting engaged, getting married, getting jobs, and seeming to have it much more together than me, it is tough to not get a little nervous that I don’t know exactly what I am going to do come May 14. However, I have stayed content knowing that there is much more out there in the world for me. New opportunities are going to arise that I didn’t even think would come my way. New people are going to cross my path. When the right thing comes my way, I will know it deep down inside of me. No doubts. No hesitations. I am content with how great my life is at the moment. I am content knowing the creator of this world has a plan just for ME. I am content knowing I have roots planted in a strong foundation.

…..And you never know how far your branches may stretch once you give the roots a little water.

Family-Tree-Logo.png

Leave a Reply

